Laboratory of Materials Morphology and Structure Investigations has been established recently and focuses on the study of materials structure, morphology and composition using modern experimental and theoretical methods. This is a method-based laboratory providing services to other research laboratories.

Scientific degree Name Surname Position Phone number E-mail
Dr.phys. Krisjanis Smits Head of laboratory; Senior researcher 67187478 Krisjanis.Smits@cfi.lu.lv
Dr.phys. Ilze Manika Senior researcher 67261132 Ilze.Manika@cfi.lu.lv
Dr.phys. Faina Muktepavela Senior researcher 67261132 Faina.Muktepavela@cfi.lu.lv
Dr.habil.phys. Janis Maniks Senior researcher 67261132 Janis.Maniks@cfi.lu.lv
MSc. Karlis Kundzins Researcher 67187875 Karlis.Kundzins@cfi.lu.lv
BSc. Liga Bikse Engineer   Liga.Bikse@cfi.lu.lv
  Jelena Susinska Engineer   Jelena.Susinska@cfi.lu.lv
BSc. Rolands Grants Engineer 67261132 Rolands.Grants@cfi.lu.lv
  Kristians Kacers Engineer   Kristians.Kacers@cfi.lu.lv
BSc. Olafs Slabkovskis Engineer   Olafs.Slabkovskis@cfi.lu.lv
  Eriks Vilunas Engineer   Eriks.Vilunas@cfi.lu.lv

The laboratory has four main research pillars:

  • electron microscopy methods (I),
  • X-ray and electron diffraction methods (II),
  • microhardness and nanoindention methods (III),
  • atomic force microscopy (IV).