Vislielākais burtu izmērs
Lielāks burtu izmērs
Burtu standarta izmērs
Towards oxide-based Electronics
Last Update

The TO-BE Fall Meeting 2017, organised by the Institute of Solid State Physics University of Latvia (ISSP UL), will be held from 11th to 13th September 2017 in Riga (Latvia) at the Institute of Solid State Physics (Kengaraga street 8).

The meeting aims to network researchers working in the field of the science and technology of transition-metal oxides and will help them to share their expertise, define future strategies, and cluster for future funding opportunities.

Participation at the event is free of charge and is open to scientists, both from the public research sector and from the private sector, with or without oral or poster contribution. Support for travel and subsistence will be offered to a limited numbers of participants. Requests for support should be made before the deadline, together with the abstract submission.

On-line registration form


Important dates:

Abstract submissions for oral talks and support applications are closed.

Abstract submissions for posters are open until August 15th.

Online registrations are open until August 31st.

Meeting - 11th to 13th of September


Important information:

Couple of conference photo can be found here

Abstract book 

Programme (last updated 08.09.2017) 

Accepted posters (last updated 05.09.2017) 


Public transport guide 

Venue and Meals 


Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

1) Fundamental Understanding of oxides for electronics: Theory and Experiments

  • Spin-transport and spin orbit effects in oxides
  • Complexity in transition metal oxides: inhomogeneity, phase separation, quantum criticality
  • Probing oxides at the nanoscale
  • Larger-scale, mesoscale modelling, effective theories
  • Topological states and defects, vortices, skyrmions
  • Role of defects in functional properties
  • Interface effects
  • Magnetic frustration
  • 2-dimensional metal oxide nanosheets
  • Strongly correlated electrons phenomena
  • Quantum computing In situ characterisation of devices

2) Oxides Growth and Fabrication Methods

  • In situ monitoring of thin film deposition
  • Integration of functional oxides on silicon
  • Large areas and upscaling
  • Low-temperature growth methods
  • Growth on flexible and transparent substrates
  • Nanofabrication methods
  • Introduction of nano-inclusions
  • Crystal growth and characterisation of oxides and/or hybrid oxides

3) Oxide-based applications and devices

  • Thermoelectric and electrocaloric devices
  • Photovoltaic applications
  • Thin film batteries
  • Memories and memristors
  • Sensors and actuators
  • Spintronics
  • Quantum computing
  • In situ characterisation of devices
  • Oxides for power electronics
  • Electrochromic Thin Films and Devices


Invited speakers

WG1 Fundamental Understanding of oxides for electronics: Theory and Experiments

  • Bernard Keimer (Director of the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research)
  • Rosalba Tatiana Fittipaldi (Institute for Superconductors, Oxides and Other Innovative Materiels and Devices SPIN)
  • Antonio Bianconi (Director of the Rome International Center for Materials Science Superstripes RICMASS)
  • Daniel Khomskii (Institute of Physics II, Universität zu Köln)
  • Michael Sing (Universität Würzburg)

WG2 Oxides Growth and Fabrication Methods

  • Salvatore Amoruso (University of Naples Federico II)
  • Gennady Logvenov (Scientific facility technology, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research)
  • Saeedeh Farokhipoor (Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Groningen)
  • Judith Driscoll (Department of Materials Science & Metallurgy, University of Cambridge)

WG3 Oxide-based applications and devices

  • Lambert Alff (Advanced Thin Film Technology, Technische Universität Darmstadt)
  • Gunnar Niklasson (Department of Engineering Sciences, Solid State Physics, Uppsala University)
  • Mónica Burriel (The Materials and Physical Engineering Laboratory, LMGP, Grenoble)
  • Carmela Aruta (Researcher at CNR (National Research Council) Institute for Superconductors and Innovative Materials and Devices (SPIN), Italy)



Conference chair:

  • Juris Purans (ISSP UL, Riga),
  • Fabio Miletto Granozio (CNR-SPIN, Italy).

Programme Committee:

  • Jeroen Van Den Brink (IFW Dresden, Germany),
  • Gertjan Koster (MESA+/University of Twente, The Netherlands),
  • Laurence Méchin (CNRS - ENSICAEN - Université de Caen, France).
  • Geetha Balakrishnan (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Daniele Marrè (CNR-SPIN, Italy).
  • Nini Pryds (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark).

Local Organisation Committee:

Please do not hesitate to contact organizers if you have any questions:



Organised by:

Supported by: